2017 Annual Meeting Minutes

The Horace Mann League of the USA

Minutes of the 97thAnnual Meeting, March 3, 2017, New Orleans

Meeting opened by Laurie Barron. Approximately 75 members and guests

Introductions of Past Presidents by Martha Bruckner: Don Thomas, Gary Marx, Charles Fowler, Art Stellar, and Spike Jorgensen.

Invocation by Stan Olson

Nominations Committee Report by Christine Johns Haines.

New Directors: Kevin Riley, Gretna, NE; Lisa Parady, Juneau, AK; and David Berliner, Tempe, AZ.

New Officers: President: Martha Bruckner, Council Bluff, IA; President-elect, Eric King, Muncie, IN; Laurie Barron, Kalispell, MT; and Christine Johns Haines, Sterling Heights, MI.

Ambassador Awards by Ruben Alejandro

Brent Clark, IN; Christine John Haines, MI; James Harvey, WA; Laurie Barron, MT;

Outstanding Friend of Public Education by Martha Bruckner, presented to Rich Bagin, Executive Director of the National School Public Relations Association. "School Communications is a local responsibility." "Develop a check sheet comparing the services of the public school with the private or charter school.

Outstanding Public Educator by Christine Johns Haines, presented to Yong Zhao of the University of Kansas. "Don't get into the trap of test scores."

Past President's award presented by Martha Bruckner to Christine Johns Haines

Meeting adjourned by Martha Bruckner, President of the Horace Mann League.