2016 HML Annual Meeting Minutes

The Horace Mann League 2016 Annual Meeting and Luncheon Friday, February 12, 2016, The Sheraton Grand Hotel, 11:45 am to 1:30 pm.

Present: 85 Members and Guests.

Meeting called to order by Steven Webb at 11:50 am.

Welcome of Members and Guests by Charles Fowler Introduction of

Distinguished Guests by Evelyn Holman
David Berliner, Professor Emeritus of the University of Arizona
Martha Bruckner, Iowa Superintendent of the Year
Carla Santorno, Outstanding Women Superintendent by AASA
Frank Hewins, Outstanding Superintendent by AASA
Art Stellar, AASA Achievement Award
Spike Jorgensen, AASA Achievement Award
Morton Sherman, AASA Superintendent in Residence
Tom Shelton, Century Club Executive Director

Past Presidents Recognition Spike Jorgensen Art Stellar Gary Marx Mark Edwards

Corporate Partner Recognition Follett Publications Discovery Channel Promethean World

The President presented the Nominating Committee report and introduced the candidates for office:

Officers President: Christine Johns-Haines

President-elect: Martha Bruckner

Vice President: Eric King Past President: Charles Fowler

Reappointments: Carol Choye James Harvey Stan Olson New appointments:

Ember Conley, Superintendent, Park City, UT

Ruben Alejandro, Superintendent, Weslaco, TX

Motion to accept the slate of candidates as presented was made by Gary Marx and seconded by Brian Barnhart. Passed.

Ambassador Award Presentations by Martha Bruckner

Laurie Barron (MT)

Brent Clark (IL)

Mark Edwards (NC)

James Harvey (WA)

Evelyn Holman (NY)

Eric King (IL)

Gary Marx (VA)

Charles Fowler (NH)

The Outstanding Friend of the Horace Mann League Award present by Laurie Barron to Gary Marx.

The Outstanding Public The Outstanding Friend of Public Education Award presented by James Harvey to Andrew Hargreaves.

The Horace Mann League's Past President Award presented by Christine Johns-Haines to Charles Fowler.

Meeting Adjourned by Christine Johns-Haines, President of the Horace Mann League.