The Horace Mann League of the USA Minutes of the Annual Meeting (AND PHOTOS) Friday, February 27, 2015 San Diego Marriott Marina Hotel

- 1. The 95thAnnual Meeting of the Horace Mann League was called to order by Gary Marx, at 11:55 am. Seventy-two members and quests were in attendance.
- 2. Joe Hairston introduced and presented plaques to the corporate partners: Discovery Education, Advanced Path Academics and Follett School Services.
- 3. Christine Johns-Haines gave the invocation.
- 4. Laurie Barron presented the 2015 Nominations Committee report"
 - 1. President: Charles Fowler
 - 2. President-elect: Christine Johns-Haines
 - 3. Vice President: Martha Bruckner
 - 4. Past President: Gary Marx
 - 5. New Director: Jeffery Charbonneau

Motion to approve and seconded. Passed

5. Charles Fowler presented the revised Horace Mann League By-Laws for approval.

Motion made and seconded and passed by voice vote.

6. James Harvey and Gary Marx reviewed the International Indicators project and presented a short video.

https://youtu.be/y9YPa 5uG9k

7. Gary Marx presented plaques to Rich and Carolyn Bagin for editing the "Iceberg Report" and to James Harvey for being the primary writer of the "School Performance Indicators" report.

8. Joe Hairston presented the Ambassador Awards to Sara Boucek for Brent Clark, Martha Bruckner, Laurie Barron, Christine Johns-Haines, Gary Marx, Evelyn Holman, James Harvey and Steve Webb.

Video of award presentations: <u>https://youtu.be/ENSOD3S341Y</u>]

9. Steve Webb presented the "Friend of the Horace Mann League" award to Mark Edwards.

10. Charles Fowler presented the "Outstanding Friend of Public Education" to Pedro Noguera.

11. Gary Marx presented the "Outstanding Public Educator" award to Gene Carter.

12. Charles Fowler presented the Past President's Award to Gary Marx.

13. Meeting adjourned at 1:25 pm.



Pedro Noguera, Gene Carter and Mark Edwards



front: Jack McKay Joe Hairston, Gary Marx and Steve Rasmussen back: Evelyn Holman, Charles Fowler, Steve Webb, Christine Johns Haines, Laurie Barron, Carol Choye, James Harvey and Spike Jorgensen



Joe Hairston and Andy Schaefer of Discovery Education



Joe Hairston and Todd Litzsinger of Follett School Services



Joe Hariston, Tom Deliganis and Reggie Underwood of Advanced Path Academics



Tom Seigel, Jack McKay, Frank Hewins, Steve Rasmussen and Steve Webb



Ambassador Awardees: Sara Boucek, Laurie Barron, Christine Johns-Haines, Gary Marx, Evelyn Holman, James Harvey and Steve Webb



Steve Webb and Mark Edwards



Gene Carter and Gary Marx



Pedro Noguera, The Friend of Public Education



Pedro Noguera, Laurie Barron and Gene Carter