2013 Annual Meeting – Los Angeles

2014 Annual Meeting

February 14, 2014

2014 National Conference Date: February 13-15, 2014

Location: Nashville, TN, The Nashville Music City Convention Center

Submitted by Jack McKay, February 27, 2013 (unofficial)

2013 Horace Mann League Annual Meeting Minutes

J.W. Marriot Hotel, Los Angeles, CA, February 22, 2013.

Meeting called to order at 12:01 pm, by Joe Hairston, President-elect.

Approximately 60 members and guests were present.

Past Presidents present: Don Thomas (19860, Bob Fortenbury (1992), Spike Jorgensen (2004), and Steve Rasmussen (2009).

Corporate Sponsors: Sponsors were introduced and thanked for their support of the League's activities: Project Seed, Pearson Education, Discovery Education, Follett Publishing, and Promethean White Boards.

Nominations and Elections: The Nominations Committee presented their report. By acclamation, the following were approved:
President: Joe Hairston
President-elect: Gary Marx
Vice President: Charles Fowler
Past President: Mark Edwards
New Directors:
Christine Johns-Haines, Supt., Utica Community Schools, Sterling Heights, MI
Steve Ladd, Superintendent, Elk Grove Unified School District, CA
Awards:
Ambassador Awardees:
Brent Clark (IL), Mark Edwards (NC), Charles Fowler (NH), Joe Hairston (MD), Eric King (IN), Carol Choye (NJ), and James Harvey (WA)

Outstanding Public Educator Award:

Dr. Thomas Payzant, former Superintendent, Boston Public Schools (and former Assistant Secretary of Education, U.S. Department of Education)