2012 Annual Meeting – Houston

Annual Meeting, Houston, February 17, 2012

The Horace Mann League of the USA

2012 Annual Meeting and Luncheon

Hilton Americas Hotel

February 17, 2012

The 90th Annual Meeting of the Horace Mann League was opened by Mark Edwards, President-elect of the League.

There were 68 people attending the meeting.

Official Business of the meeting:

1. Report on Nominations and Election of Officers and Directors

George Garica reported on the recommendations of the HML Nominations Committee.

President: Mark Edwards, Supt. of Schools, Moorseville, NC

President-elect: Joe Hairston, Supt. of Schools, Baltimore County Schools, MD

Vice President: Gary Marx, President, Center for Public Outreach, Vienna, VA

1st Past President, Julie Underwood, Dean, School of Education, U. of Wisconsin

2nd Past President, George Garcia, former Supt. of Schools, Boulder Valley, CO

3rd Past President, Steve Rasmussen, Supt. of Schools, Issaguah, Wa

4th Past President, Fred Hartmeister, Professor, Texas Tech. U., Lubbock, TX

Re-appointed Directors:

Nancy DeFord, former Supt. of Schools, Park City, UT

Linda Darling Hammon, Professor, Stanford University, CA

Eric King, former Supt. of Schools, Muncie, IN

Evelyn Holman, former Supt. of Schools, Bay Shore, NY

Stan Olson, former Supt. of Schools, Boise, ID

New Appointments:

Dwight Jones, Supt. of Schools, Clark Co. Schools, Las Vegas, NV

William Hite, Supt. of Schools, Prince Georges Co. Schools, Marlboro, MD

Ambassador Awardees:

Brent Clark, Exec. Dir. IASA, Springfield, IL

Mark Edwards, Supt. of Schools, Moorseville, NC

Charles Fowler, Exec. Dir., SSS, Exeter, NH

Joe Hairston, Supt. of Schools, Baltimore Co. Schools, Towson, MD

Eric King, former Supt. of Schools, Muncie, IN

Gary Marx, President, Center for Public Outreach, Vienna, VA

Art Stellar, former Supt of Schools, Burke, Co. Schools, Morgantown, NC

Steve Rasmussen, Supt. of Schools, Issaquah, WA

Friend of the Horace Mann League Awardee:

Spike Jorgensen, Past President of the League and former Supt. of Schools, Tok, AK

Friend of Public Education Awardee:

Jack Jennings, President, Center on Public Policy. Washington, DC

Submitted by Jack McKay, Executive Director