2008 Annual Meeting – Tampa

The Horace Mann League, Annual Meeting Minutes, February 16, 2008, Tampa, FL

Held in conjunction with the Suburban School Superintendents Association & Teachers College Alumni

Attendance: 170

Agenda

Meeting called to order by Colleen Wilcox, President of the Horace Mann League, at 11:50 a.m..

Introduction of Officers and Directors by Colleen Wilcox

Introduction of Past Presidents by Joe Hairston: Don Thomas, Jane Hammond, Spike Jorgensen, and Ken Bird

Introduction of Suburban School Superintendents' Board Charles Fowler

Invocation by Steve Rasmussen

Introduction of Susan Fuhrman, President of Teachers College by Tom Sobol

Motion to establish the following "Standing Committees": Finance Committee" and "Legal Issues Committee": Passed

Auction of Horace Mann Prints: Wendy Puriefoy and Stan Olson

Nomination and Election of Directors and Officers by Colleen Wilcox

New Director Appointments Charles Fowler (NH) and Claire Sheff-Kohn (MA)

Vice President George Garcia (AZ)

President – elect Steve Rasmussen (WA)

President Fred Hartmeister (TX) Colleen Wilcox (CA)

Motion accept nominations: Passed

Presentation of Awards

Ambassador Awards – Presented by Julie Underwood to: Carol Choye, Brent Clark, Art Stellar, Colleen Wilcox

Outstanding Educator Award – Presented by Carol Choye to: *Carroll Johnson, Professor Emeritus, Teachers College*

Outstanding Friend of Public Education – Presented by Gary Marx to: Wendy Puriefoy, President, Public Education Network

Presentation of President's Award by Fred Hartmeister to: Colleen Wilcox

Meeting adjourned at 1:30 p.m.